Johnathan Thurston to join Cowboys for NRL Nines

February 2, 2017 by

Johnathan Thurston Confirmed for Cowboys Auckland Nines

Johnathan Thurston will make his Auckland Nines debut playing for the North Queensland Cowboys this weekend. After missing out on the first three Auckland campaigns, Thurston will finally get his chance to show off his talent at Eden Park. He will share the captaincy with Gavin Cooper, the imposing Queensland backrower and spearhead a strong squad including some familiar names.

Joining the Cowboys for the Auckland Nines is Jason Taumalolo, the talented Dally M Medallist along with Kangaroos Michael Morgan, Kyle Feldt, Justin O’Neill and rising NRL star Kalyn Ponga. The new recruits including former Melbourne playmaker Ben Hampton along with ex-Titan’s backrower Shane Wright. Ethan Low will also be joining the squad in the back row after a successful recovery from a spinal injury in 2016.

Benji Marshall Makes his Debut for Brisbane Broncos

The Cowboys are scheduled to fly to Auckland on Wednesday. They start off their campaign with pool games against Canberra, the Sydney Roosters and South Sydney. Meanwhile former Kiwi skipper Benji Marshall will make his debut playing for the Brisbane Broncos.

Marshall will be joined by controversial flyer James Roberts who made headlines recently facing allegations of assaulting a Gold Coast nightclub patron.  Roberts was picked up shortly after the NRL integrity unit was unable to obtain video footage of the alleged incident. While the matter is still open, the integrity unity said that they would take no action against the athlete at this point in time.

The Broncos Nines squad will be captained by front runner Darius Boyd. He will be joined by hooker Andrew McCullough, Anthony Milford and Corey Oates. The Broncos have also included a few New Zealand internationals including Adam Blair, Jordan Kahu and Australian Kangaroos Matt Gillet. Talented youngsters who showed exceptional pre-season play will join the squad including Frank Molo, Gerome Burns, Alex Barr, Mitch Cronin, Sam Lavea and Matiu Love-Henry.

The full Broncos’ Nines squad is as follows:   Darius Boyd, Matt Gillett, Jordan Kahu, Sam Lavea, Benji Marshall, Gehamat Shibasaki, Francis Molo, Anthony Milford, James Roberts, Jonus Pearson, Adam Blair, Matiu Love-Henry, Mitch Cronin, Gerome Burns, Andrew McCullough, Jaydn Su’A, Corey Oates and Alex Barr.

The squad for the North Queensland Cowboys includes: Gavin Cooper (capt), Johnathan Thurston, Jason Taumalolo, Kalyn Ponga, Javid Bowen, Kyle Feldt, Ben Hampton, Shaun Hudson, Michael Morgan, Shane Wright, Gideon Gela-Mosby, Jake Granville, Corey Jensen, Ethan Lowe, Justin O’Neill, Kane Linnett, Coen Hess and John Asiata.

TOP online betting SITESJuly 2024
1 IE allowed5/5100% Match up to $250 Bet now
2 IE allowed4.9/5Up to $60 NZD Bet now
3 IE allowed4.8/5100% Match Bet now
4 IE allowed4.6/5Login to see promotions Bet now

Lauren Ball

More About

An avid writer and sports betting enthusiast, Lauren Ball has found the ideal way to combine the two. As a regular contributor and resident expert, Lauren is now putting her considerable wisdom to good use, and keeps punters informed as to what’s hot and happening in the online betting and sporting world.
From the latest sports results to any upsets or developments in the betting world, Lauren makes it her business to know what’s going on in the industry and share it with those who have the same interests.

View Posts - Visit Website