The FIA Formula E Championship Mexico

March 2, 2018 by

The 2018 Mexico City E-Prix

Motor racing fans, sports punters and environmental supporters have something to celebrate as the ABB FIA Formula E Championship moves to Mexico for race 5 of the 2017/2018 season calendar. The 2018 Mexico City E-Prix will take place on the 3rd of March at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez.

While not as popular as Formula One, the E Championship is certainly growing in popularity, with plenty of sports enthusiasts around the world watching every minute of the action. For those who are new to the sport, the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is the world’s first and largest fully electric single-seater racing series.

What is Formula E?

The championship consists of 10 teams with a total of 20 drivers. Each team competes in 10 races, which are held at international cities across 5 continents over a period of 7 months. As with Formula One, the races are set in some of the most iconic cities on the planet including Rome, New York, Paris and Hong Kong.

Formula E is all about sustainability and environmental awareness. Every part of the championship has been designed with sustainability in mind. This includes the cars that are powered by renewable fuels made from E Glycerine Generators. The tyres are specially designed to last the entire race and then get recycled at the end. The championship uses temporary city tracks in already established cities. At the race itself, no parking facilities are offered, encouraging spectators to use public transport.

Environmental awareness and sustainability aside the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is nothing short of spectacular. The 2017/2018 season marks the 4th season of the championship and includes new locations such as Zurich, Santiago and Sao Paulo. The engines have also been boosted from 170kw to 180kw, making the race more spectacular than ever.

What to Expect in Mexico?

The Mexico City E-Prix is the 5th race in the series after 2 races in Hong Kong, then on to Marrakesh and Santiago. The current team leaders are Techeetah with 89 points while Mahindra Racing is in close second on 87 points. In the drivers’ standings, J Vergne is leading the pack with 71 points racing for Techeetah. Hot on his tail is F Rosenqvist on 66 points racing for Mahindra. Last year, Nextev Nio were victorious in Mexico while Venturi came in second. The Championship is perfectly poised and the Mexico race could be the decider.

TOP online betting SITESMay 2024
1 IE allowed5/5100% Match up to $250 Bet now
2 IE allowed4.9/5Up to $60 NZD Bet now
3 IE allowed4.8/5100% Match Bet now
4 IE allowed4.6/5Login to see promotions Bet now

Lauren Ball

More About

An avid writer and sports betting enthusiast, Lauren Ball has found the ideal way to combine the two. As a regular contributor and resident expert, Lauren is now putting her considerable wisdom to good use, and keeps punters informed as to what’s hot and happening in the online betting and sporting world.
From the latest sports results to any upsets or developments in the betting world, Lauren makes it her business to know what’s going on in the industry and share it with those who have the same interests.

View Posts - Visit Website