2017 is 55th Year of Fed Cup

January 22, 2017 by

The 55th Annual Fed Cup Set To Showcase Top Talent

This year’s Fed Cup will see the 55th year of the women’s Tennis tournament. This annual professional tennis tournament is the largest annual women’s tournament attracting top athletes from across the world of women’s tennis.

2017 looks set to be a momentous year with star players who arose from the 2016 Cup are sure to shake things up.

Top Tennis Stars to Watch

Monica Puig from Puerto Rica took home the 2016 Olympic gold and she also pulled her country through the Americas Group two games. She won 5 singles matches and 3 doubles matches, really making their country proud.

France’s Caroline Garcia along with her teammates Kristina Mladenovic and Amelia Mauresmo really shook up the competition as well and almost made it to the finals if it was not for the powerhouse performance of Czech Republic’s Karolina Pliskova and Barbora Strycova in the doubles.

Kateryna Bondarenko from the Ukraine and Kiki Bertens from the Netherlands are two other players to watch during this 55th annual Fed Cup tournament.

Fed Cup Offers Great Viewing

The Fed Cup features 16 participating countries that play off against each other until a champion is declared. The 16 countries are made up of the best of the 99 member countries.

Despite being the very first tournament offering no prize money and expecting players to cover their own expenses, the Fed Cup quickly grew to a huge annual event once sponsorship was picked up by the event organisers.

This year the quarter finals take place on the 11th to 12th of February, the semi finals on the 22-23 of April and the finals are scheduled for the 11 to 12 of November. The quarter finals will feature Spain facing the Czech Republic in Ostrava in the Czech Republic.

Germany will be facing the United States in Hawaii, the Dutch will be facing Russia in Minsk and France will be facing Switzerland in Geneva.

Players from Each Zone

The sixteen teams that compete in the Davis Cup are formed from the best teams who make it through from their respective zones.

The Zones are the American Zones, the Euro and Africa Zones and the Asia and Oceania Zones. Each of the zone winners move into the Group 1 and Group 2 world group stage. In each if the groups 4 of the 8 players will be seeded to enter the next round in the quarterfinals. The winners of these quarterfinals move into semi finals and then finals rounds.

TOP online betting SITESJune 2024
1 IE allowed5/5100% Match up to $250 Bet now
2 IE allowed4.9/5Up to $60 NZD Bet now
3 IE allowed4.8/5100% Match Bet now
4 IE allowed4.6/5Login to see promotions Bet now

Lauren Ball

More About

An avid writer and sports betting enthusiast, Lauren Ball has found the ideal way to combine the two. As a regular contributor and resident OnlineBettingNZ.co.nz expert, Lauren is now putting her considerable wisdom to good use, and keeps punters informed as to what’s hot and happening in the online betting and sporting world.
From the latest sports results to any upsets or developments in the betting world, Lauren makes it her business to know what’s going on in the industry and share it with those who have the same interests.

View Posts - Visit Website